R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > I need HELP!!!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Can I run the AC on standard 110 VAC / 15 amp

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Online
Post Options Post Options   Quote TimeOutside Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can I run the AC on standard 110 VAC / 15 amp
    Posted: Today at 3:27am
Noob here.

When purchasing my first camper the other day, a used 2012 RP177, I asked what limitations there would be running the camper using the 30 amp to 15 amp adapter.  The dealer told me that I should not run the (Dometic) air conditioner on a 15 amp circuit, because in the long run it would strain and burn out the compressor.  This does not make sense to me.  I understand the Dometic to pull 1000 to 1100 watts on starting.  (Eventually, I plan on getting a soft-start.)  That's only 10 amps.  Although I haven't grabbed the specs and added them up, I don't expect the other main appliances like lights, fridge, bathroom fan, propane water heater, TV, etc. to total up to be more than 5 watts.  (Yes, the coffee pot, microwave, etc. will bring up the total to over 15 watts if the AC is running.  But I can turn off the AC if I want to use these items.)

Anyway, I don't know what I don't know.  Is there an issue with running the AC when on a 15 amp circuit?

Thanks,
Andrew
Some ideas are so preposterous that only an intellectual can believe them. - Malcolm Muggeridge
GlueGuy View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote GlueGuy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Today at 12:10pm
We have run our AC on a 15-amp circuit. You can't run much else; in particular the microwave oven or other high-amp things. So if you're running AC, make sure most everything else is turned off.