R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedHitch Overkill?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
finder9 View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hitch Overkill?
    Posted: 08 Oct 2016 at 9:48am
Thanks folks.  That was kind of my thinking.  Appreciate the comments.

Jack
2017 Rpod 179
2015 Dodge Ram
StephenH View Drop Down
podders Helping podders - pHp
podders Helping podders - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2016 at 11:19pm
+1 on the Fastway E2 or Equal-i-zer 4-way sway control hitch (the one I have). I have no experience with the Andersen. Some have rated it highly. Others do not think so well of it. It does have a lot of advantages, among which would be the weight. The Equal-i-zer's hitch head is HEAVY. I suspect the one on the E2 is not exactly light either. You will need to take that into consideration when deciding which one is right for you. If I were to get a new one, I would definitely be considering the Andersen unless something better comes along.
StephenH
Happy is the man that findeth wisdom,...

ouR escaPOD mods
Former RPod 179
Current Cherokee Grey Wolf 24 JS
CharlieM View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2016 at 10:30pm
That Reese is way overkill for the Pod. The recommended WDH for Pods is the E2 by Fastway. It's rated for a 6000# trailer with 600# tongue weight. Very popular here. It does both weight distribution and sway control and is easy to use. Another popular model is the Andersen, but it doesn't do as well on weight distribution. A third option is the 6000/600 Equal-i-zer by Progress Mfg. Inc. It is slightly better, but also more expensive. The E2 is really the best option IMO and I have used one for years. 
Charlie