R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > I need HELP!!!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedNewbie towing question

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Newbie towing question
    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 at 7:38am
Newbie here; please be gentle. 🙂 When I searched, I didn’t see a similar questions, so...

Does anyone tow their R-Pod with a vehicle rated for 3500 lbs/350 tongue? And if so, how big an R-Pod? We are wondering if we will be limited to the 171, or can go a bit bigger to the 3,000 lb dry weight size? LOVE the 171, but would prefer something with an awning.

Any assistance would be appreciated. Thank you!

offgrid View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Sep 2020 at 8:35am
OK, gentle.  Some folks do it but I wouldn't tow anything larger than the smallest rpod with a 3500 lb tow vehicle, if that. 

Look at the gross weight of the trailer, not the empty weight. Empty weight is very misleading as it doesn't include any options, batteries, or water in the water heater or tanks. Not to mention supplies, clothing, tools etc. Typically folks are closer to max trailer weight than empty weight, and if you boon dock you will probably need to work at it not to exceed MTW. 

Then also consider that a tongue weight of 10% or total trailer weight is the very least you should have to minimize sway risk, and note that you can't keep the tongue weight at 10% all the time, it will vary based on loading. 

Also, the 3500 lb tow rating is misleading as well as manufacturers assume nothing is in the tow vehicle when they establish that rating. Consider what you will really have in the tow vehicle, cargo and passengers, assume the trailer is at MTW, and leave some safety margin beyond that so you're not pushing the max limits of your rig.