R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedA/C, Outlets & 12v

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: A/C, Outlets & 12v
    Posted: 02 Jun 2013 at 2:28pm
Ok I have the unit home now and I am going through the paces while in the drive way. And I have a few questions for you all since my dealer is closed today and will think about this all night if I do not asked now.
While running off 12volt battery only the lights work. Is this normal?
For some reason I thought I could have lights and electrical outlets running off the battery.

I am sure the A/C draws to much juice to run off the battery, but as I am new to the R/V world I figured I would ask.

When I hook up my unit to the power running from the house everything runs ok.

Oh yes, I am already working on a mod to my unit. Pictures when I am done, but so far I removed the television above the bed, as we do not like a tv when we are on the road. I am closing off the area (above the bed) where the tv was to make storage for clothes and what ever else we may want to store. Still plenty of head room
Carl & Sandee              2013 R 177               2012 Titan
Anthony Valenzano View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2013 at 3:36pm
AC outlets and the Air conditioning only work when shore powered.  You'd need an DC-AC inverter to have 120VAC power from 12VDC battery.  Lights are 12VDC, along with the furnace, bathroom fan, water pump.
techntrek View Drop Down
Admin Group - pHp
Admin Group - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2013 at 3:38pm