R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedSpark when connecting to home outlet

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Spark when connecting to home outlet
    Posted: 14 Dec 2016 at 12:55pm
Hello,
     Newbie here, recently winterized our new(late August) 179, did not get enough trips in but loved it and hoping for an early spring. I have not yet gotten organized enough to handle battery storage so following a few posts here I plan to plug it into 110v outlet in garage regularly to maintain battery. I have limited garage space but am working on getting it inside and on a maintainer for the winter. My question is, should I be concerned when I see a spark as I plug it into the garage outlet? I start by connecting 30A cable to Pod, then to extension cord, then to adapter to wall outlet. I always get a spark, or crackle. No issues with wiring, has been checked, just initial spark when making final connection. I don't have this issue when camping as I make connections before flipping switch "on" at power post. I don't have a switch on outlet at home, would require trip into house to flip switch on electrical panel. Just wondering if this is a concern. Would it help if I switch off the main breaker in the pod when I am connected?

Thanks for any wisdom.
Dan
2017 RPod 179
2018 Chevy Colorado Z71 4x4
CharlieM View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2016 at 1:13pm