R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedOutside paint finish

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Outside paint finish
    Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 4:14pm
My 2016 has been sitting for over a year and the sun only hits one side of it. The side where the sun doesn't hit is like new, shiney. The other side shows some fading especially on the light green color. I have used rubbing compound and wax but it still doesn't give an even shine. I was a painter, so I'm suspecting that originally a clear coat was used on the paint. I am wondering if I should spray clear coat on that area. It would mean I would have to remove the synthetic wax and maybe go over that with a super fine sandpaper. Anybody know how to remove the wax? And what to use? I'm thinking alcohol but don't know. I'm thinking just let it go for now and do it in warmer weather. Any thoughts?
furpod View Drop Down
Moderator Group - pHp
Moderator Group - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 6:09pm
I never used anything harsher then a good cleaner wax, and a wool bonnet on a cheap Auto Zone buffer. Pod was shiny when we sold it at 6 years old,  for washing, I used the Meguires Wash and Wax Ultimate. Yellow stuff in a jug..
Richand Cindy View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 6:39pm