Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Yukon TV & rp-196
    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 at 8:23am
Hello Everyone!

Another newbie here with another newbie towing question. My wife and I have a 196 on order, and with delivery expected around December/January I have some time to research and make decisions on some different topics around camping. We are both very excited about our new chapter in life and look forward to the many adventures. We look forward to meeting the many like minded folks in the RV/Camper community! To start, we plan to do mostly local travel, and then expand our travels as experience accumulates and time goes by. So, we would like to get as much right from the start that we can.

My question is as follows; I have a 2017 Yukon with a tow rating of 6500lbs. What I am trying to decide is if I need to have a weight distribution/sway control type hitch?  I don't like complexity that is not needed, but I do care about safety. From my research I have found some information that says my 2017 Yukon has an anti-sway feature. It will detect and automatically apply the trailer brakes when sway is detected. My research has also shown that I have a 1000lb tongue weight rating. My brake controller is a Redarc Tow-pro Elite. So with this information, is a WD/sway control hitch needed for safety reasons?

This isn't a decision about saving $500 on a hitch, it is more about keeping things simple and making the journey easier. I would love to hear thoughts from anyone on this subject.

Thank you!
lostagain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Sep 2020 at 9:24am