FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedPet First Aid Kit

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Guest Group
Guest Group
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Pet First Aid Kit
    Posted: 16 Sep 2010 at 10:20am

I am wondering what the rest of you carry in the way of first aid supplies/kit, for your pet, when camping?  I've always carried tweezers and antiseptic (for ticks) and a couple of bandages, but that's about it.

What do you think a good pet first aid kit should contain?
Brin View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 2010 at 7:47pm
I carry roll guaze, vet wrap (similar to an ace bandage), adhesive tape,   3/3 gauze, antiseptic ointment, tweezers for ticks, benadryl,  antiseptic solution for the dog. As I am a veterinarian, I also tend to take some anti-diarrhea medication as she does swim in lakes/streams alot.  Your vet could recommend something for your individual dog.   Also, some anti-inflammatory medication as we hike alot---dogs cannot take advil, tylenol, aleve and sometimes even aspirin safely so again, check with your vet for their recommendations.  I use derramax as needed but even it can cause problems if underlying kidney problems exist.  Make sure you use a flea and tick preventative along with monthly heartworm preventative if you are in mosquito prone areas.
Benadryl is great for bee stings along with applying a cold compress. 
I tend to have most of the bandage material also in case  of wounds on ourselves and often am more likely to use the antiseptics on us.Tongue
Heres a link to the aspca pet first aid kit---you can probably modify to suit your needs.  It is also a good idea to have poison control hotline number available.  http://www.aspcaonlinestore.com/index.php?productID=1930
The vinyl gloves (disposable) that we use for dumping black tank are already in trailer. 
We have emergency heat camp blankets that we got at a camping store for our backpacks.