R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Reviews and General Information
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedMy 2016 R-pod 179 Review

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: My 2016 R-pod 179 Review
    Posted: 09 Apr 2021 at 12:39pm
Hello all. Long time lurker. We recently sold our R-pod 179 and while things are fresh in my brain I wanted to share some thoughts.

First he rpod 179 was our first travel trailer. We wanted to have a good first experience. We found a very lightly used rpod. We also looked at a satellite and the jayco version was also on the radar. I have some construction background, but nothing RV specific. From what I can tell all 3 of these trailers are about equal in the quality/longevity department. Ultimately we settled on the 179 because of the great layout and reasonable used/end of season price. We really had a good time towing this trailer around. Our smallish, body on frame SUV  got us where we needed safely and the torsion axle on the rpod is a nice to have. There is room for improvement, with the addition of shocks on the torsion axle. I would like to see this as an option.

The inside looks like many other modern trailers. The 179 has a great layout. The layout is by far the best part of this trailer.

The table is terrible. We ended up taking ours out and leaving it in the basement. It was heavy. It had to many sharp edges to catch a toe or shin.