R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > I need HELP!!!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedWDH on KIA Sorento

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: WDH on KIA Sorento
    Posted: 14 Apr 2021 at 10:35am
Hi everyone! Newbie here! I recently bought a 2017 180 which is located in Florida. I need to tow it to Pennsylvania with a 2020 KIA Sorento V6 with an aftermarket hitch. Of course, I want to be as safe as possible. Do I need a WDH or will a sway bar suffice? I’ve read conflicting things regarding using wdh on unibody vehicles. Please help!
lostagain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2021 at 10:53am
The short answer is yes.  

If your towing capacity is 3500 lbs., once fully loaded to the gross capacity of the trailer, you will be exceeding the towing capacity of your Sorento.  If your towing capacity is 5000, as apparently is the case with some of the AWD versions of the Sorento, you'll be within the 5000 limit with a reasonable margin of safety.  Using a WHD, if the manufacturer doesn't recommend against it, will give you a much more comfortable ride, better control, and will reduce driver fatigue.  

Best of luck in bringing your new trailer home.
Never leave footprints behind.
Fred & Maria Kearney
Sonoma 167RB
Our Pod 172
2019 Ford F-150 4x4 2.7 EcoBoost
Hazelsmom View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2021 at 11:12am
Thanks so much for your quick response! Yes, it is an AWD with towing capacity of 5000. I can’t find anything in the vehicle manual that says anything about using a wdh!
Colt View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2021 at 11:55am