This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Introduce Yourself
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

towing the R pod 189 - Event Date: 18 Dec 2021

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote padman189 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Calendar Event: towing the R pod 189
    Posted: 18 Dec 2021 at 10:07am
Hello all. 

I'm new to the trailer and towing world and have a question regarding best practice for towing. 
I have an 2018 R pod 189.  (Hitch wt of 281 empty, trailer weighs about 3K), I tow it with a 2019 Ford Ranger.  SHould I get a weight distribution and sway control system for towing?

Thank you for the help. 
mike
padman
Ben Herman View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote Ben Herman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Dec 2021 at 10:50am
Originally posted by padman189

Hello all. 

I'm new to the trailer and towing world and have a question regarding best practice for towing. 
I have an 2018 R pod 189.  (Hitch wt of 281 empty, trailer weighs about 3K), I tow it with a 2019 Ford Ranger.  SHould I get a weight distribution and sway control system for towing?

Thank you for the help. 
mike

With that heavy of a trailer, I would  definitely not want to be without a sway/weight dist hitch. I tow a 179 that weighs about the same empty as the 189, and the difference with/without the wd/s hitch is night and day. 

And welcome to the RPod world - lots to learn, site is a big help for so many of us!

David and Danette View Drop Down
podders Helping podders - pHp

Post Options Post Options   Quote David and Danette Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Dec 2021 at 11:02am