R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedCan I tow without Tow Pkg?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can I tow without Tow Pkg?
    Posted: 15 Dec 2011 at 8:46am
I have a 2008 Toyota Highlander. It has no tow pkg. The Highlander with tow pkg can tow 5k lbs. I've been towing my rig (2011 MPG 3200 lbs) since May 2011 without problems but haven't gone farther than 30 miles one way.

I've been thinking about adding a transmission cooler. Will this be sufficient? Or do I need to get a new vehicle? I want to go on longer trips but not sure how the Highlander will handle it.
sfish View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2011 at 9:36am
I would ask my Toyota dealer what is included in the trailer tow package. Some just add a heavy duty flasher and a hitch and others add the tranny cooler. I would think that a tranny cooler would be all you need to add.
sjf
duck42 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2011 at 1:23pm
We have a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid, wasn't purchased with a tow package and added the tow bar later. Not sure if it has a transmission cooler or not but we have towed our 171 from Salt Lake City to Vermont and back with no over heating or problems other than gas mileage dropping from 25 to 12. Not sure about extended periods of time on very mountainous roads, but our Toyota dealer said we should be fine and so far he was right. I think you would be fine without the transmission cooler or a new vehicle.
TerryM View Drop Down
Admin Group - pHp
Admin Group - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2011 at 7:29pm
Can you afford to replace the tranny?Confused

Terry
RP-175 W/Lift Kit 2011 Ford F-150 4X4