Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Camping Adventures
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic Closed40 pound propane tank

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: 40 pound propane tank
    Posted: 04 Apr 2013 at 1:24pm
  We do a lot of dry camping even in cold weather so I'm wondering about putting a 40# bottle on the tongue.  The diameter is the same as a 20# bottle.  I'd have to come up with another strap, and I'm not sure the hose for the 20# bottle reach the top of a 40# bottle.  Anyway, all those issues aside, will I be able to tell any difference in road handling with an extra 20# on the tongue?  Are there any other safety issues worthy of consideration?

TT 
CharlieM View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 2013 at 2:18pm
As an engineer I would be leary of a single 40# tank from a mechanical stability standpoint. Securing that tall bottle in the dynamic towing environment might  be a problem. A preferable solution would be two 20# bottles, side by side, as is commonly done on travel trailers. Two 30# bottles would probably be possible if you need that much LP. This approach has several advantages in addition to mechanical: redundancy, refill convenience, automatic empty switchover.The extra weight on the tongue will not be an issue, particularly with a weight distribution hitch . And there really is room on the tongue for two LP tanks, two batteries, the spare tire, a WDH connection, and a 15 gallon "blue tank" sewage carrier. I know because that's the way I have my RP-172 set up.
Charlie
Northern Colorado
OLD: 2013 RP-172, 2010 Honda Pilot 3.5L 4WD
PRESENT: 2014 Camplite 21RBS, 2013 Supercharged Tacoma 4L V6 4WD
Tars Tarkas View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 2013 at 5:58pm
Originally posted by CharlieM