Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Introduce Yourself
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic Closedbattery

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: battery
    Posted: 24 Aug 2015 at 10:30pm
I am buying the 2016 Rpod 179 model this week. The dealer informed me it does not come with the battery, it would be extra. He indicated he doesn't use his, but if he did buy one he would get a bigger one than what is provided/sold with the unit.
So first question, if I don't plan on dry camping, at least not for a while, do I need a battery, and if NOT, can I use the car battery for basic power ups ?
Second, if I should get one, should I get a bigger as he recommended ?
SNO4ME View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Aug 2015 at 11:06pm
Doesn't come with a battery?  Really?

I'm kind of new to this trailer business (two years) and we bought ours used so I'm not real familiar with the program of buying a new unit. But they tell you the battery is extra?
I know they are not shipped with a battery, I'm assuming to do with hazardous materials rules?

I couldn't fathom going with out a battery (but then I have 2 batteries and a new generator).
This one is going to be interesting to hear!

We need the emoticon of the guy eating Pop Corn.  Smile

Bruce & Donna in the Sno Pod
(and Brewer too)
2011 RP 177
Podster View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2015 at 6:20am
It is true that new units do not ship from the factory with a battery, however, all dealers include one with the sale. Yes, you must have a battery, it's required to power the electric brakes in an emergency break away and having a battery comes in very handy on the road. No you do not need a bigger battery, any group 24 RV/Marine will do just fine. 

Welcome and happy Podding! Thumbs Up
Cliff & Raelynn
Ranger 4.0/178
(1/2 ton 5,800lb tow capacity)
Outbound View Drop Down