R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedProper Decorum For Fill-Up & Sewage Stops

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Proper Decorum For Fill-Up & Sewage Stops
    Posted: 01 Apr 2016 at 9:33am
Hello everyone and thanks for your time and for sharing your experiences and expertise!  

(I hope this is an acceptable place to post this...I tried the "search" feature to tap into existing discussions, but didn't have any luck.)  

Despite growing up camping/hunting/fishing and being fairly capable DIY-ers, we're admittedly complete newbies with our own RV camping.  

We're in the process of planning out a nice PA - Smoky Mountains - GA - Everglades - Keys - Carolinas - home "loop", and I was hopeful that I could get some feedback regarding "fill-ups" between semi-dry-camping locations.  

Most of the state and national parks we're looking at are electric only...so the AC/water pump/lights should hopefully be a non-issue for us.  

Most of the sites have no water hookups...and I wanted to ask about the acceptable protocol for handling that.  

Seems wasteful to drag 250+ lbs of water from PA to TN, but since towing weight isn't a problem, is that what you'd do?  

And once the water is diminished, what should we do before moving southward again and setting up at another "no water" facility?  Is it acceptable to visit a full-hookup campground and ask to pay for just a dump/fill-up?  Do they make you "pay the piper" and pay for a full-hookup site in order to do that?  

Do some of these "electric only" state parks perhaps have a hose for clean water fill-up that isn't overly advertised?