R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Reviews and General Information
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedNew to Towing

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: New to Towing
    Posted: 18 Oct 2016 at 2:49pm
Hello All,

Looking for some guidance on towing. I am new to the whole towing thing. We just purchased a 2017 180 and are preparing for our first road trip. My TV is a 2016 F150 Super Crew Cab, 5.0L, 4x4 with the off-road package and 20" tires. The tow capacity is rated at 8900lbs. The 180 has a tongue weight of 290lb and gross weight (empty) of a little over 2600lb. I can put 300lb of weight directly on my hitch and the rear end of the TV doesn't even go down a full inch. I have a 2" Curt drop hitch rated at 750lb tongue and 7500lb towing capacity that would make the 180 ride at an level 20" with the 300lb tongue weight taken into consideration.

Do I need a weight distribution hitch or sway control to pull it comfortably; or would either be overkill?
2017 rp-180
TheBum View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2016 at 3:03pm
Friction sway control: probably. Weight distribution hitch: no.
Pod Hopper View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2016 at 3:12pm
Thanks. Any recommendation?
2017 rp-180
CharlieM View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2016 at 3:23pm