Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Miscellaneous / Off-topic
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedI'm not an Electrician..but...pros and cons

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: I'm not an Electrician..but...pros and cons
    Posted: 03 Dec 2014 at 11:21pm
Like many others, I would like to install a 30amp RV service plug here at the house so I can have the benefit of blowing the A/C while I am modding here in South Texas during the 100+ summer.

The question: What is the, if any, preference for the tap point on the house: 1) the feeder at the "utility in" located outside using a double pole breaker(because it full), or 2) tapping at the service panel inside the garage?

I'm just wondering what the normal go to is in this situation, if there is one. 

And as always, I really do appreciate folks taking time to respond. 

Cliff & Raelynn
Ranger 4.0/178
(1/2 ton 5,800lb tow capacity)
JStrube View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Dec 2014 at 12:20am
Can you post pics of the 2 locations in question and distances from the pod plug?  I'd say closest to the pod is best, but you need space for the breaker.  Do you have a load center at the utility feed?  Are you talking a sub panel in the garage? Fed from a breaker?
2012 181G
Podster View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Dec 2014 at 6:55am
Originally posted by JStrube

Can you post pics of the 2 locations in question and distances from the pod plug?  I'd say closest to the pod is best, but you need space for the breaker.  Do you have a load center at the utility feed?  Are you talking a sub panel in the garage? Fed from a breaker?

Sure, I can post some pictures this weekend.